Cliveden House
image_pdf

PAYE were appointed principle contractor by The National Trust for the re-building & repair of the grand South Terrace which dates from the 1660’s and is the last remaining original structure of the house.

Working closely with Julien Harrap Architects, the staircase and ballustrading were carefully dismantled and retained to allow repairs of the supporting structure to be undertaken.

Following careful removal of all defective masonry, the exposed brickwork could be assessed for repair. Each salvaged piece of stonework was given a unique identification number which corresponded to an annotated drawing ensuring they were all re-fixed back into their original positions.

A detailed photographic wrap was erected over the access scaffolding in front of The South Terrace which incorporated an 18m long slide for visitors to use as a unique way of getting to formal gardens. A walkway built into the scaffold also allowed an unprecedented view of the works in progress.

The magnificent flight of steps are now restored to their original design incorporating some interesting gauged brickwork. Conservation repair of the Cockerell Pavillion roof and ferneries were also undertaken. The completed repair and conservation work has returned the historic masonry back to its former architectural splendour for future generations to enjoy.